Dwadash Jyotirlinga Names and Location

Dwadash Jyotirlinga Names and Location

Jyotirlinga, is a devotional representation of the Supreme Lord Shiva. Jyoti means “radiance” and lingam means ‘Image or Sign’ of Shiva, Jyotirlingam means the Radiant Sign of Lord Shiva. There are 12 Jyotirlinga in India.

Somnath is considered as the first pilgrimage site, out of Dwadash Jyotirlinga. Lord Shiva is known as Somachandra here. It is located at Prabhas Patan (Somnath – Veraval) in Saurashtra region of Gujarat state in western India. The temple, that was destroyed and re-built sixteen times.

Lord Shiva is known as Mallikarjuna and goddess as Bhramaramba in Srisailam, the second jyotirlinga. Srisailam is located on a mountain in Kurnool District in Rayalaseema. It is a place where Shakti peetha and Jyotirlingam are together.

The Mahakaleshwar jyotirlinga is in Mahakal forest in Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh. It is beleived that the Lingam here is Swayambhu, the only one of the 12 Jyotirlingas. It is a place where Shakti peeta and Jyotirlingam are together and it is among one of the seven “Mukti-Sthal” – the place that can liberate a human.

Omkareshwar – Mamaleshwar
Omkareshwar or Mamaleshwar Temple is the 4th jyotirlinga located in shivapuri island in the Narmada River, Madhya Pradesh. The another name of Mamaleshwar is Amareshwar. Lord Shiva is worshipped as Omkareshwar here.

Baidyanath is the fifth Jyotirlinga temple, also called as Baba vaidyanath dham and vaidyanath dham. It is located in Deoghar, Santhal Pargana division, Jharkhand, India. Lord Shiva descended to cure injured Ravana, as a doctor thus the name Vaidhyanath (Vaidya – doctor).

Bhimashankar jyotirlinga is in the Sahyadri range of Maharashtra, on the banks of Bhima River. The legend of this Jyotirlinga is related to Kumbhakarna’s son Bhima. Lord Shiva manifested himself in the form of Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga. It is believed that the sweat of Lord Shiva’s body formed the Bhima River.

Ramalingeswarar jyotirlinga is in Rameswaram, sethu caost of Tamil Nadu, and is revered as the southernmost of the 12 Jyotirlingas of India. Lord Shri Ram made a linga of sand and worshipped it for the blessings to defeat Ravana. Lord Shiva gave his blessings and then turned into a Jyotirlinga.

Nageshwara Jyotirlinga is also known as Naganath Temple.It is located Daruka-Vana, the present day Dwarka region. This Jyotirlinga holds special significance as it symbolises protection from all types of poison. The Lord Shiva is worshipped as Nageswara Form.

Kashi Vishwanath
Kashi Vishwanath jyotirlinga or Kashi is located on the bank of river Ganges, in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. It is the most sacred of Hindu shrines. Varanasi is the holy city where the Hindus expected to make a pilgrimage at least once in their life time. It is a place where Shakti peeta and Jyotirlingam are together. Lord Shiva is worshipped as Vishwanath or Vishweshwara.

Trimbakeshwar jyotirlinga is near Brahmagiri mountain, 30 kms from Nasik in Maharashtra. This Jyotirlinga is associated with the origin of Godavari River. The extraordinary feature of the Jyotirlinga is the Linga is in the form of a three faced embodying Tridev, Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva.

Kedarnath jyotirlinga is in Uttarakhand, the northernmost and the closest Jyotirlinga to Lord Shiva’s eternal abode of Mount Kailash. It is located on Rudra Himalaya at the height of 12000 feet on a Kedar mountain. The temple opens only six months in a year. Shiva assumed the form of wild boar and dived into the earth at Kedarnath to emerge at Pashupatinath.

Grishneshwar jyotirlinga is located in Verul village, 20 km from Daulatabad, near Aurangabad in Maharashtra. The Ghrishneshwar temple is also known by as Kusumeswarar, Ghushmeswara, Grushmeswara and Grishneswara. Ghushmeshwar is believed as the last or the twelth Jyotirlinga on earth.

Saurashtre Somanathamcha Srisaile Mallikarjunam|
Ujjayinya Mahakalam Omkaramamaleswaram ||
Paralyam Vaidyanathancha Dakinyam Bheema Shankaram |
Setu Bandhethu Ramesam, Nagesam Darukavane||
Varanasyantu Vishwesam Tryambakam Gautameethate|
Himalayetu Kedaaram, Ghrishnesamcha shivaalaye||
Etani jyotirlingani, Saayam Praatah Patennarah|
Sapta Janma Kritam pApam, Smaranena Vinashyati||”